One-Pan Pasta with Ricotta and Artichokes

I had some problems with this recipe, but the end result was surprisingly good! I couldn’t find frozen artichokes so I used 1 can of artichokes and quartered them myself. I also couldn’t find refrigerated fettuccine, so I used dried. There wasn’t enough liquid in the pot for my dried pasta to cook, so I broke each piece in half. We all liked this, and the portion I had for lunch the next day was even better!

rating: 9

One-Pan Pasta with Ricotta and Artichokes
(Cooking Light, Dec. 2015)

serves 4

Ingredients:

1 tablespoon olive oil
1 cup chopped onion
8 ounces sliced mushrooms
4 garlic cloves, sliced
2 1/2 cups unsalted chicken stock (I used vegetarian “chicken” stock)
1 1/2 cups frozen artichoke quarters, thawed
3/4 teaspoon kosher salt
1/2 teaspoon freshly ground black pepper
1 (14.5-ounce) can unsalted fire-roasted tomatoes (I used regular diced tomatoes)
1 (9-ounce) package refrigerated fresh fettuccine (I used dried fettuccine)
1/2 cup part-skim ricotta cheese
3 ounces fresh mozzarella cheese, torn into small pieces
1/4 cup torn fresh basil

Directions:

1. Preheat broiler to high.

2. Heat a large skillet over medium-high heat. Add oil; swirl to coat. Add onion, mushrooms, and garlic to pan; cook 7 minutes, stirring occasionally. Add chicken stock, artichokes, salt, pepper, tomatoes, and pasta to pan, and bring to a boil. Stir to combine. Cover; reduce heat, and simmer 8 minutes or until pasta is tender. Dot pasta mixture evenly with ricotta and mozzarella cheeses.

3. Place pan under broiler. Broil mixture 2 minutes or until cheese melts. Sprinkle evenly with basil.

FullSizeRender (21)

This entry was posted in pasta, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to One-Pan Pasta with Ricotta and Artichokes

  1. I just tried making one pan pasta as well! I was pleasantly surprised. –Deb

Leave a Reply

