German Oven Pancake

The other night I needed to go to Plan B for dinner, and Plan B was “breakfast food.” I was really craving pancakes, but every recipe I found called for buttermilk, which I didn’t have on hand. Then I came across this recipe. Boy, this dish is very impressive when it comes out of the oven! It’s so easy and husband and I thought it was very tasty. My kids, surprisingly, didn’t love it. It isn’t overly sweet, so maybe that was the reason? I think next time I make it, I will add more sugar. I topped my pancake with blueberries, strawberries, and a dusting of powdered sugar. YUM!

rating: 9

German Oven Pancake
(http://therecipecritic.com)
time needed: 17 minutes

Ingredients:

½ cup all purpose flour
3 eggs
½ cup milk
3 tablespoons melted butter, divided
1 tablespoon sugar
¼ teaspoon of salt

Directions:

Preheat oven to 450 degrees. In a medium sized bowl whisk the eggs, milk, melted butter, salt and sugar. Add the flour and stir until incorporated being careful not to overmix.
Add 1 tablespoon melted butter to the bottom of a 9 or 11 inch cast iron skillet. Pour the batter into a skillet and bake for 12-18 minutes or just until the edges start to brown. Top with desired toppings.

FullSizeRender101

 

This entry was posted in breakfast, brunch, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

