Smoky Carrot Dogs with Nacho Sauce

I have heard of carrot dogs before, and was a little curious about them, but when I saw this recipe in Cooking Light and saw it was marked as a “staff fave”, I knew I had to try them. I thought the actual “dog” was really good! I wouldn’t eat it plain (I mean, I would, because I like carrots), but with toppings, it was really good! I thought the texture was great! My problem was with the nacho sauce. I used my food processor instead of a blender, and my sauce never got creamy. It was really chunky, but it tasted okay. I just couldn’t drizzle the sauce over the dog. Everyone thought they were pretty good! I had some carrots left over, so I ate them in a salad the next day, and they were excellent.

rating: 8.5

Smoky Carrot Dogs with Nacho Sauce
(Cooking Light, June 2017)

serves 8

Ingredients:

3/4 cup raw cashews
8 large carrots, rinsed
2 tablespoons canola oil
1 tablespoon reduced-sodium tamari or soy sauce
2 teaspoons liquid smoke (optional)
1 1/2 teaspoons smoked paprika
1 teaspoon garlic powder
1 teaspoon onion powder
1/4 cup jarred salsa
1/4 cup unsweetened almond milk
3 tablespoons nutritional yeast
1/4 teaspoon cayenne pepper
1/4 teaspoon ground cumin
1/4 teaspoon ground turmeric
1/4 teaspoon kosher salt
1 tablespoon water
8 whole-wheat hot dog buns, lightly toasted
2 small jalapeños, thinly sliced
1/4 cup diced red onion

 

 

Directions:

Place cashews in a bowl with water to cover by 1 inch. Let stand 8 hours or overnight.
Preheat oven to 450°F. Line a 13- x 9-inch baking dish with aluminum foil. Trim ends from carrots to fit hot dog buns. Using a vegetable peeler, peel carrots, and round edges to create a hot dog shape.
Place oil, tamari, liquid smoke (if desired), paprika, garlic powder, and onion powder in a small bowl. Stir with a whisk. Place carrots in a single layer in prepared baking dish. Pour oil mixture over carrots; rub to coat on all sides. Bake at 450°F for 35 minutes, tossing every 15 minutes.
Drain cashews. Place cashews, jarred salsa, almond milk, yeast, cayenne pepper, cumin, turmeric, and salt in a high-powered blender. Process until creamy, 2 to 3 minutes. Stir in up to 1 tablespoon water, 1 teaspoon at a time, until desired consistency is reached.
Place 1 roasted carrot in each bun. Top each with 2 tablespoons nacho sauce; top evenly with jalapeño slices and diced red onion.

FullSizeRender (3)

FullSizeRender (4)

This entry was posted in main dish, sandwich, vegan and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Smoky Carrot Dogs with Nacho Sauce

  1. This seems very exciting. Thank you for sharing!

  2. Rachel says:

    OMG! Trying these!!!!

  3. Pingback: Carrot Dogs – Emerging Adult Eats

Leave a Reply

