Milk Gravy

My grandma used to make milk gravy all the time when I was younger, and I loved it! She told me that there was really nothing to it, but that I definitely had to have bacon drippings as a major ingredient. 😦 What is a vegetarian to do? Well, I used Vegan Magic, and ta da, milk gravy! It was really good, and my 10 year old loved it! I haven’t had milk gravy in over 25 years, but now I can. πŸ™‚

rating: 9.5

Milk Gravy
(www.food.com)

makes 3 cups

Ingredients:

1 -2 tablespoon vegetable oil or 1 -2 tablespoon vegetable shortening
4 tablespoons all-purpose flour
3 cups whole milk
1 teaspoon black pepper
1⁄2 teaspoon salt

Directions:

~NOTE~ This recipe will have more flavor if you use 1-2 tablespoons of oil from the oil you fried chicken fried steak in, or maybe even bacon grease. If you don’t have that, no need to worry, you can use vegetable oil or vegetable shortening.
Heat 1-2 tablespoons oil in a skillet over medium heat.
Whisk in flour, whisking constantly for about 1 minute.
Slowly add milk, whisking constantly.
Stir in pepper and salt and continue cooking.
Whisk constantly for about 10 minutes, or until thickened.

FullSizeRender (6)

FullSizeRender (7)

This entry was posted in breakfast, brunch, sauce or gravy, Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

