Carrabba’s House Salad Dressing (Creamy Parmesan)

Here’s another one from the new restaurant recipe cookbook. I was a little leery of this one, since we HATE Carrabba’s. But I don’t think I had evil thoughts about their salad, so I decided to give this one a try. As you can see by the recipe, it’s really easy to make and doesn’t include alot of ingredients. In the notes for it, they say that if you don’t have buttermilk that regular milk is fine. I used Silk plain soymilk instead and it tasted great. This is a really good creamy dressing. It’s one of those dressings where you want to eat it with a spoon. 2 Thumbs up. We had a salad with this dressing, along with a Spicy black bean burger, cole slaw, and potato pancakes.

**Edited 7/8/13: I gave Carrabba’s another chance and now we actually really like them! I especially like their fried zucchini appetizer and their pizza!

rating: 9

Carrabba’s House Salad Dressing (Creamy Parmesan)
(“Top Secret Recipes- Super Secret Restaurant Collection” by Todd Wilbur)

Ingredients:

1/2 cup mayonnaise
1/4 cup grated Parmesan cheese
1/4 cup buttermilk (I used Silk Soymilk)
1 1/2 tsp minced garlic
1/2 tsp minced fresh parsley (I used a little dried parsley)
1/2 tsp lemon juice

Directions:

Whisk together all ingredients in a small bowl. Makes 1 cup.

This entry was posted in salad and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

21 Responses to Carrabba’s House Salad Dressing (Creamy Parmesan)

  1. Janann Holmes says:

    Glad you gave Carrabba’s another try…. I have to say…. I love the Carrabba’s in Westminster, Co. The food is always fresh and the bread and Herb dip is always a treat.

  2. I am a regular at Carraba’s. I have never ordered anything I was less than delighted. I could eat their salad with their houuse dressing every meal.

  3. Rachel says:

    This dressing is spot on. Very easy too. Thank you!

  4. Molly says:

    What brand of mayonnaise did you all use?

  5. Tracy says:

    Funny post, that you gave them another chance!! Thanks for the laugh!!

  6. Emily says:

    So, maybe I’m picky or i did something wrong but this tasted nothing like the dressing from carrabbas. Perhaps i need to let it sit? Does it need heated? Heating it seems to bring it to the correct color, but i had already tried to fix it by adding more ingredients. Therefore it just got worse.

  7. nancy says:

    I add to the recipe about 1 1/2 t of anchovy paste and a little tarragon and a splash of
    white wine. These recipe’s from the best restaurants always leave out one or two
    main ingredients on purpose, as they don’t want to reveal their own. So, I tried
    different things to try to match them until I got close. My dressing is GREAT!
    Nancy

  8. Beth says:

    I just went to Carrabba’s this past weekend and had their Creamy Parm dressing. I loved it and asked for the recipe. Though the cook couldn’t give me amounts, she said there was oil, mayo, splash vinegar, anchovies, fresh garlic and tarragon in it. This sounds nothing like what you’ve listed. I’m going to try to replicate as it was the most delicious dressing I’ve had in a long time.

  9. Deirdre says:

    This is delish, thanks for sharing! It is very close to Carrabba’s house dressing which we love. I add a bit of horseradish for a bit of kick and use 1% milk instead of buttermilk and it is 5 stars!! I’ve found that shaved parm instead of the fine shredded makes all the difference.

  10. Glenda says:

    I would love Carrabba’s Italian dressing recipe.

  11. Ilene says:

    You need to up the parm cheese to 2 cups! Just bland and runny otherwise.

  12. Rick says:

    Carrabba’s dressing definitely has a hint of tarragon, which this recipe does not include.

  13. Baltisraul says:

    Add a nice splash of Tarragon Vinegar and it becomes spot on.

  14. Pam Max says:

    I cant wait to try this!! I have tried the original recipe before and it was good, but not as good as Carabbas. I am going to try with all of your suggestions

  15. Baltisraul says:

    Glad I saved this recipe, as it looks like Carabba’s is about to close up most of it’s locations. Their chicken marsala is out of this world!!

Leave a comment