Dulce de Leche Banana Cream Pie

I never ever try out a new recipe on someone – I always make it once ahead of time to make sure it’s good! Except for last week, when I made this pie for my college roommate Tina and her son Zachary. Tina wanted me to show her some cooking tips (and in trade, she would help me with some sewing). This pie sounded so easy to make. I mean, come on, 5 ingredients?! The only tough-sounding item was that you have to stir the condensed milk for 2.5 hours. And you also have to refrigerate the pie for awhile after making it, so I got started on the condensed milk part before Tina arrived at my house. The stirring part was actually easy- every time I passed through my kitchen I stirred it. It wasn’t a constant thing at all. And sure enough, gradually the stuff thickened and turned a nice caramel color. And bonus, it made the house smell great! Tina helped me assemble the pie, and then when the pie was chilled (and that condensed milk really kind of solidifies), I had her whip up the heavy cream and sour cream. When it was very light and fluffy, I tasted it. Tina asked if it was good, and I said, “well, not really.” It wasn’t sweet at all, but it went perfectly with the in-your-face sweetness of the rest of the pie. Tina’s son Zachary gave me about 5 compliments on this pie, one being “This is excellent!” It really is a good pie. And pretty!

rating: 9.5

Dulce de Leche Banana Cream Pie
(www.myrecipes.com)

Ingredients:

* 2  (14 oz.) cans sweetened condensed milk
* 1  store-bought 9-inch pie crust
* 3  medium bananas (21 oz. total, with skin on)
* 1  cup  heavy cream
* 3  tablespoons  sour cream

Directions:

Pour condensed milk into a large, heatproof bowl and set over a pot of simmering water to make dulce de leche. Cook, checking water level and adding water as necessary. Stir milk occasionally and cook until it is very thick and golden brown, about 2 1/2 hours.

Bake crust according to package directions. Cool on a wire rack.

Slice 2 bananas. Spread half of warm dulce de leche in crust; top with sliced bananas. Spread remaining dulce de leche over bananas. Chill until cold, at least 2 hours.

Just before serving, combine heavy cream and sour cream in a bowl. Whip, using a mixer on high speed, until soft peaks form. Spread over pie. Slice remaining banana and use to garnish pie. Cut pie into wedges and serve.

This entry was posted in dessert and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Dulce de Leche Banana Cream Pie

  1. Sally says:

    Oh, I thought you had to stir it the whole time. Sounds and looks so yummy! Thanks Kelly for sharing your review with me.

  2. Stacy & Joel Jr says:

    Yum! But… review? We always skip forward to the nitty gritty NUMBER first before reading all the details. 😉

  3. peppertree says:

    I knew I forgot something, Stacy!

  4. Pingback: Pie Recipes For Great American Pie Month - Baby Gizmo Blog

Leave a comment