“Bacon”, Onion, & Cheese Quiche

I haven’t made quiche in a while, and I happened to have an extra frozen pie crust lying around. Liam has really taking a liking to Morningstar Farms veggie bacon strips, so I thought I could throw those in a quiche. I also had extra green onions that needed to be used. This quiche failed me. I don’t know if it’s the almond milk I use, or if my oven temps are all wacky, but after 40 minutes in the oven, this thing was still total liquid. I left it in there for about 45 MORE minutes, but meanwhile, my family was starving, so I had to make another dinner on the fly. We had omelets and salads. I left this quiche out on the stove to cool down, then covered it and threw it in the fridge. We ate it for lunch the next day. I could still tell that the eggs hadn’t quite firmed up, but it was edible. I just bought an oven thermometer to start using, to troubleshoot what the problem is. If this quiche had cooked all the way, it would have been an 8.5.

“Bacon”, Onion, & Cheese Quiche

Ingredients:

3 beaten eggs
1 1/2 cups milk (I used Silk Almond milk)
1/4 cup sliced green onion
2 slices Morningstar Farms veggie bacon
1/4 tsp salt
1/8 tsp pepper
dash ground nutmeg
1 1/2 cups sharp cheddar cheese, shredded
1 tbsp all-purpose flour
prepared pie crust
cooking spray

Directions:

1. Preheat oven to 325 degrees F.
2. Fry “bacon” in a frying pan (with cooking spray) until they start to brown. Let cool, then crumble.
3. In a bowl, stir together eggs, milk, onion, bacon, salt, pepper, and nutmeg.
4. Toss together shredded cheese and flour. Add to egg mixture and mix well.
5. Pour egg mixture into pie crust. Bake in oven for 35-40 minutes or until a knife inserted near the center comes out clean. If necessary, cover edge of crust with foil to prevent over-browning.

This entry was posted in brunch, main dish and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to “Bacon”, Onion, & Cheese Quiche

  1. Mrs. S. Bee says:

    Some nice quiche and tart recipes. FYI: you could have baked the quiche mixture in a well-oiled pie plate minus the crust. It would have been like a frittata and eminently edible and yummy. Because of gluten/wheat sensitivities, I rarely make any quice recipe in a crust. This also makes the carbs neglible.

  2. Mrs. S. Bee says:

    Sorry. That’s quiche, not quice.

  3. Susan Cole says:

    Hi there! I just tried the recipe using whole milk and mine didn’t set up either. It seems almost like there is too much milk and not enough eggs. Were you ever able to figure it out?? I can’t wait to eventually eat this, it smells fantastic.

  4. Susan Cole says:

    Actually, as a follow up. After 40 minutes I raised the oven temp to 400 for another 15 minutes and they came out perfectly. Rave reviews from brunch group. Thanks for the recipe.

Leave a comment