Mushroom Noodle Casserole

Ok, this one will really throw you. I got this recipe from…A Dollywood cookbook! This cookbook was my grandmother’s, and this is the first recipe I have tried from it. Granted, I had to “veggify” it a little, but it was really good! When I make it again (and I will), I will add more mushrooms (and Toby says to add a different kind of mushroom- something more “woodsy”). I think that’s all I would change. My substitutions are in the recipe. I served this with a green salad.

rating: 8

Mushroom Noodle Casserole
(“Recipes from the Heart of the Smokies”, by Dollywood, Inc.)

Ingredients:

1 package (8 ounces) egg noodles
3/4 cup margarine, melted (I used butter)
1/2 cup seasoned bread crumbs
1 medium onion, chopped
1/2 lb mushrooms, sliced
1/2 cup flour
1 tsp salt
1/4 tsp pepper
2 cups chicken broth (I used veggie)
1 cup milk (I used Silk soymilk)
2 cups cooked chicken, cubed (I omitted)

Directions:

Melt margarine, remove 1/2 cup to mix with bread crumbs. Saute onions and mushrooms in remaining margarine. Stir in flour, salt and pepper. Add chicken broth, stir and cook until thickened. Spray 2 quart casserole with cooking spray. Mix sauce with cooked noodles, chicken, and milk in casserole dish. Mix bread crumbs with margarine and sprinkle over top of casserole. Bake 25-30 minutes at 350 degrees or microwave 15 minutes. Let stand 15 minutes before serving.

dscf3642.jpg

This entry was posted in pasta and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Mushroom Noodle Casserole

  1. Pingback: 10/21 Menu « taylorseast

  2. John Rhoe says:

    I must try this as soon as I settle in. I will use a mix of portaobello , shitake, and button mushrooms with diced turkey and whole wheat noodles.

Leave a comment