Makeover Cheddar Biscuits

These biscuits are supposed to taste like Red Lobster’s Cheddar Bay Biscuits. I have never had one of those, so I can’t really tell you if it’s true or not, but yeah, these were good! This recipe supposedly makes about 15 biscuits, and I didn’t need that many, so I halved it. I realized I didn’t have any cake flour, so I called a neighbor to hopefully borrow some, and she didn’t have any. But, she did suggest googling how to make my own! And I did! And it is easy! I used vegan shredded cheddar in these, and they turned out just fine. Halving the recipe gave me 7 biscuits, and they were all gone in no time.

rating: 9

Makeover Cheddar Biscuits
(www.tasteofhome.com)

makes 15 biscuits
time needed: 30 min.

Ingredients:

1 cup all-purpose flour
1 cup cake flour
1 1/2 tsp baking powder
3/4 tsp salt
1/2 tsp garlic powder, divided
1/4 tsp baking soda
4 tbsp cold butter, divided
1/3 cup finely shredded Cheddar cheese
1 cup buttermilk
1/2 tsp dried parsley flakes

Directions:

1. In a large bowl, combine the flours, baking powder, salt, 1/4 tsp garlic powder and baking soda. Cut in 3 tbsp butter until mixture resembles coarse crumbs; add cheese. Stir in buttermilk just until moistened.

2. Drop by two tablespoonfuls 2″ apart onto baking sheets coated with cooking spray. Bake at 425 F for 10-12 minutes or until golden brown. Melt remaining butter; stir in parsley and remaining garlic powder. Brush over biscuits. Serve warm.

IMG_1656

This entry was posted in bread and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment