Tofu Popcorn Chick’n

I found this recipe on Pinterest. At first, when I put the tofu into the breading, I thought “how is this going to work??” But I just used a spoon and stirred it around until all the tofu was coated, then put it all in the pan. There were a couple of big globs of it, but I just separated them with my spatula. This breading had such a good flavor! I would like to have this in a sandwich! I can’t wait to make this again.

rating: 9.4

Tofu Popcorn Chick’n
(http://thevedge.org/)

Ingredients:

350g / 13oz block firm or extra firm tofu
⅓ cup chickpea/garbanzo flour
¼ cup nutritional yeast
1 Tbsp wet mustard (any kind: dijon, wholegrain etc)
1 tsp salt
1 tsp all season salt (try cajun or lemon pepper for different flavors)
½ tsp pepper
⅓ – ½ cup water
2-3 Tbsp grapeseed or olive oil

Directions:

Press tofu for about 10 minutes. Drain tofu, wrap in paper towels or clean tea towel, and place heavy items on top to press. I use a heavy chopping board with some weights on top.
Meanwhile, prepare the coating.
Combine all dry ingredients in a bowl.
Slowly add the water, whisking as you go. The coating should be the consistency of pancake batter.
Add mustard and mix.
Break the tofu into big crumbles into the coating. You can also chop into ‘sticks’ or into nugget sized pieces. I prefer to do crumbles as its less fussy to cook and comes out just as good.
Combine tofu and coating.
Heat oil in a non stick pan.
Pour the tofu mix into the pan and spread so the tofu is on a single layer.
Cook on both sides until golden brown, adding oil as needed.

IMG_1169

This entry was posted in main dish, tofu, vegan and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Tofu Popcorn Chick’n

  1. joshyjm says:

    I’ve been experimenting with tofu lately but it hasn’t really been turning out good, shall we say. This on the the other hand looks great! Definitely going to give this a try!

  2. Jennifer says:

    Can I use a different flour?

Leave a comment