Classic Memphis-Style Coleslaw

We have zucchini growing in our garden, and when I think “zucchini”, I think “crab” cakes. And when I think “crab” cakes, I think coleslaw! This slaw was really good! So good that husband said “You made this slaw? It’s awesome!” It was a little heavy on the mayo for me, so next time I would use a little less. But I agree, it’s awesome!

rating: 9

Classic Memphis-Style Coleslaw
recipe adapted from Southern Living Comfort Food via Our Best Bites
(http://www.barefeetinthekitchen.com/)

Yield: 8 servings

Ingredients:

1 cup mayonnaise (I used Just Mayo vegan mayonnaise)
2 tablespoons dijon mustard
2 tablespoons apple cider vinegar
3 tablespoons sugar
3/4 teaspoon kosher salt
1 teaspoon onion powder or 1 tablespoon finely grated onion
2 teaspoons celery seeds
1 16 ounce bag of coleslaw mix, plain cabbage or tri-color deli style

Directions:

In a large bowl, stir together the mayonnaise, mustard, vinegar, sugar, salt, onion powder, and celery seeds. Add the shredded cabbage and toss until well coated. Refrigerate for an hour before serving and up to 2 days. Toss again right before serving. Enjoy!

photo

This entry was posted in side dish, vegan and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment